Olaratumab and doxorubicin versus doxorubicin alone for treatment of soft-tissue sarcoma: an open-label phase 1b and randomised phase 2 trial.
Tap WD, Jones RL, Van Tine BA, Chmielowski B, Elias AD, Adkins D, Agulnik M, Cooney MM, Livingston MB, Pennock G, Hameed MR, Shah GD, Qin A, Shahir A, Cronier DM, Ilaria R, Conti I, Cosaert J, Schwartz GK.
- DOI
- 10.1016/s0140-6736(16)30587-6
- Record issued
- 2026-08-03
- Engine
- 7.9.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-27
Prepared by Adcurare. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at adcurare.com/verify/9321b5be-f1d7-4b0f-a5e2-c6aee8aef656 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×2−1★
- ReportingKey resources not met−0.5★
- ReportingData & code availability not met−0.5★
- StatisticsPrinted percentage does not match its own count (capped) ×4−0.25★
- ReportingEthical approvals partially met−0.25★
- ReportingStatistical analysis partially met−0.25★
- 01Key resources not identified
The investigational product (olaratumab) is described with dose and regimen but without a specific manufacturer catalog number or clone identifier. The active comparator (doxorubicin) is not identified by manufacturer. Statistical software is not identified. These are significant gaps in key resource reporting.
“Olaratumab is a recombinant human immunoglobulin G subclass 1 (IgG1) monoclonal antibody that specifically binds PDGFRα, blocking PDGF-AA, -BB, and -CC binding and receptor activation.”
Introduction ¶3 - 02Data and code not shared
No data availability statement is present. The study was registered at ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT01185964), but no data repository deposit or code sharing is mentioned. This is a critical omission for a clinical trial.
- 03Printed percentage does not match its own count
39% does not match the reported count 25/65
“neutropenia (25 [39%])”
Phase 2 adverse events - 04Printed percentage does not match its own count
19% does not match the reported count 12/65
“vomiting (12 [19%])”
Phase 2 adverse events - 05Printed percentage does not match its own count
79% does not match the reported count 51/65
“51 (79%)”
Phase 2 outcomes - 06Printed percentage does not match its own count
19% does not match the reported count 12/65
“12 [19%]”
Phase 2 safety
2 further findings of this severity or below — every one is in the sections below, filed under its error type.
The paper describes a well-designed randomized phase 2 trial with a clear scientific rationale and generally adequate reporting. However, it has critical gaps in key resource identification, data availability, and statistical reporting (including two impossible confidence intervals that are likely typos), which reduce reproducibility and transparency.
All three independent reviewers (same model) agreed on all dimension statuses, with minor disagreements on sub-criteria. The paper was evaluated as a full-text clinical trial. The statistics verification covered only a subset of tests; the citation check flagged three references not found in registries. The two impossible confidence intervals were flagged by both the copyedit pass and integrity analysis.
Numerical inconsistencies
2 findings · worst mediumValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
- Printed percentage does not match its own countRecomputed
Recomputed 7 tests: 7 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 7 via agent-written checks. 4 printed percentages that do not match their own count.
- PERCENT39% does not match the reported count 25/65
“neutropenia (25 [39%])”
Phase 2 adverse events - PERCENT19% does not match the reported count 12/65
“vomiting (12 [19%])”
Phase 2 adverse events - PERCENT79% does not match the reported count 51/65
“51 (79%)”
Phase 2 outcomes - PERCENT19% does not match the reported count 12/65
“12 [19%]”
Phase 2 safety
- CONSISTENTreported p = .061 · recomputed p = .063Reviewers 1, 3Check p-value for progression-free survival from stratified HR and 95% CI.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.672, 0.442, 1.021, 1)
- CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewers 1, 3Check p-value for overall survival from stratified HR and 95% CI.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.46, 0.30, 0.71, 1)
- CONSISTENTreported p = .342 · recomputed p = .314Reviewer 1Check p-value for objective response rate (investigator assessment) using 2x2 table.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(12, 54, 8, 59)
- CONSISTENTreported p = .074 · recomputed p = .064Reviewer 1Check p-value for objective response rate (independent assessment) using 2x2 table.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(12, 54, 5, 62)
- UNCOMPUTABLEreported p = .121 · recomputed p = .638Reviewer 1Check p-value for independent review PFS from HR and CI.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.67, 0.04, 1.12, 1)
- CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 2Overall survival HR = 0.46, 95% CI 0.30–0.71, p=0.0003. Compute p from CI.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.46, 0.30, 0.71, 1)
- CONSISTENTreported p = .061 · recomputed p = .063Reviewer 2Progression-free survival HR = 0.672, 95% CI 0.442–1.021, p=0.0615. Compute p from CI.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.672, 0.442, 1.021, 1)
- CONSISTENTreported p = .342 · recomputed p = .314Reviewer 3Check p-value for objective response rate (investigator) using chi-square from cell countsHow we recomputed it: pChi2x2(12, 54, 8, 59)
- highinternal contradictionThe 95% confidence interval for the independent assessment objective response rate in the olaratumab+doxorubicin group is reported as '29·6–29·8', which is impossible for a proportion of 18.2% (the CI must contain the point estimate). This is likely a typographical error.
“The objective response rate for the independent assessment was 18·2% (95% CI, 29·6–29·8) with olaratumab+doxorubicin”
Results - mediuminternal contradictionThe 95% CI for the independent review PFS hazard ratio is reported as '0·04–1·12', which is extremely wide (lower bound near 0) and inconsistent with the investigator-assessed CI (0.442–1.021) for the same number of patients. This suggests a possible transcription error.
“0·670; 95% CI, 0·04–1·12; p=0·1208”
Results
Overstated conclusions
1 finding · worst lowConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
12 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- partialReviewers 1, 2The combination of olaratumab plus doxorubicin improved both progression-free and overall survival compared with standard-of-care doxorubicin in patients with advanced soft tissue sarcoma.The PFS improvement met the pre-specified alpha of 0.20 but not conventional 0.05, while the OS improvement is highly significant. The claim is partially supported because the PFS result is marginal.Evidence: PFS: stratified HR 0.672, p=0.0615; OS: stratified HR 0.46, p=0.0003.
“The combination of olaratumab plus doxorubicin improved both progression-free and overall survival compared with the standard-of-care doxorubicin in patients with advanced soft tissue sarcoma.”
Abstract - partialReviewer 2The inhibitory effect of olaratumab on tumour and stromal PDGFRα signaling may persist beyond the immediate treatment period.The paper argues that the greater OS vs PFS benefit suggests a persistent effect, but this is speculative and not directly tested. It is a reasonable hypothesis based on the data.Evidence: Discussion, paragraph 3: 'The magnitude of improvement observed in median overall survival ... was greater than that observed in progression-free survival ... suggesting that the inhibitory effect ... may persist beyond the immediate treatment period.'
“This finding suggests that the inhibitory effect of olaratumab on tumour and stromal PDGFRα signaling may persist beyond the immediate treatment period.”
Discussion ¶3 - supportedReviewer 1This study met its predefined primary endpoint for progression-free survival.The primary endpoint used a two-sided alpha of 0.20, and the p-value of 0.0615 is below this threshold, so the claim is supported.Evidence: PFS p=0.0615, pre-specified alpha 0.1999 after interim analysis.
“This study of olaratumab with doxorubicin in patients with advanced soft tissue sarcoma met its predefined primary endpoint for progression-free survival”
Abstract - supportedReviewer 1Achieved a highly significant improvement of 11.8 months in median overall survival (P=0.0003; HR 0.46).The reported OS difference is statistically significant at conventional levels, and the p-value is very low.Evidence: Median OS 26.5 vs 14.7 months, HR 0.46, p=0.0003.
“achieved a highly significant improvement of 11·8 months in median overall survival (P=0·0003; HR 0·46)”
Abstract - supportedReviewers 1, 2Our study is the first randomized study to show increased survival for patients with soft tissue sarcoma treated with an agent added to doxorubicin therapy.The paper's literature search identified 19 prior randomized trials, none showing OS benefit, so this claim is supported by the presented evidence.Evidence: Research in context panel and references.
“Our study is the first randomized study to show increased survival for patients with soft tissue sarcoma treated with an agent added to doxorubicin therapy.”
Panel: Research in context, Added value… - supportedReviewer 2This study of olaratumab with doxorubicin in patients with advanced soft tissue sarcoma met its predefined primary endpoint for progression-free survival.The primary endpoint was PFS at a two-sided α=0.20; the reported p=0.0615 is below this threshold, so the claim is supported.Evidence: Results: Progression-free Survival; p=0.0615 < 0.1999.
“This study of olaratumab with doxorubicin in patients with advanced soft tissue sarcoma met its predefined primary endpoint for progression-free survival and achieved a highly significant improvement of 11·8 months in median overall survival (P=0·0003; HR 0·46).”
Abstract - supportedReviewer 2The improvement in median overall survival was 11·8 months and is highly significant.The paper reports median OS 26.5 vs 14.7 months, difference 11.8 months, p=0.0003, HR 0.46, directly supporting the claim.Evidence: Results: Overall Survival; median OS values and p-value.
“achieved a highly significant improvement of 11·8 months in median overall survival (P=0·0003; HR 0·46).”
Abstract - supportedReviewer 3The combination of olaratumab and doxorubicin met its predefined primary endpoint for progression-free survival.The paper reports a PFS HR of 0.672 with a p-value of 0.0615, which met the pre-specified alpha of 0.1999.Evidence: Results, Progression-free Survival: 'This improvement in favor of olaratumab+doxorubicin met the protocol-defined significance level of 0·1999 for final progression-free survival (stratified HR, 0·672; 95% CI, 0·442–1·021; p=0·0615).'
“This improvement in favor of olaratumab+doxorubicin met the protocol-defined significance level of 0·1999 for final progression-free survival (stratified HR, 0·672; 95% CI, 0·442–1·021; p=0·0615).”
Results - supportedReviewer 3The combination achieved a statistically significant improvement in overall survival.The OS HR is 0.46 with p=0.0003, which is highly significant.Evidence: Results, Overall Survival: 'This difference of 11·8 months represented a statistically significant improvement in median overall survival (stratified HR, 0·46; 95% CI, 0·30–0·71; p=0·0003).'
This difference of 11·8 months represented a statistically significant improvement in median overall survival (stratified HR, 0·46; 95% CI, 0·30–0·71; p=0·0003).
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 3The safety profile of the combination is acceptable and does not increase serious toxicity.The paper reports adverse events, including febrile neutropenia rates that are similar between groups, and notes that discontinuations were lower in the combination arm.Evidence: Results, Adverse Events: 'The incidence of febrile neutropenia was similar in both groups: olaratumab+ doxorubicin (8 [13%]) vs doxorubicin (9 [14%]).' and 'The percentage of patients who discontinued treatment because of an adverse event was lower with olaratumab+doxorubicin than with doxorubicin (8 [13%] vs 12 [19%]).'
“The incidence of febrile neutropenia was similar in both groups: olaratumab+ doxorubicin (8 [13%]) vs doxorubicin (9 [14%]).”
Results - supportedReviewer 3PDGFRα expression did not correlate with treatment outcome.The interaction p-values for OS and PFS are not significant, supporting the claim.Evidence: Results, PDGFRα Assessment and Outcomes Comparison Analysis: 'The interaction effect between PDGFRα expression (positive or negative) and treatment was not significant for either overall or progression-free survival (interaction p-values 0·3209 and 0·5924).'
“The interaction effect between PDGFRα expression (positive or negative) and treatment was not significant for either overall or progression-free survival (interaction p-values 0·3209 and 0·5924).”
Results - supportedReviewers 2, 3This is the first randomized study to show increased survival with an agent added to doxorubicin in soft tissue sarcoma.The paper cites a literature search showing no prior randomized trial with a survival advantage over doxorubicin alone.Evidence: Panel: Research in context: 'We identified 19 randomized phase 2 or phase 3 clinical trials, none of which showed an overall survival advantage of single agent or combination therapy over doxorubicin alone.'
“We identified 19 randomized phase 2 or phase 3 clinical trials, none of which showed an overall survival advantage of single agent or combination therapy over doxorubicin alone.”
Panel: Research in context
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
4 findings · worst highRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data and code not sharedAssessed
- Key resources not identifiedAssessed
- Statistical reporting gaps (tests, assumptions, effect sizes)Assessed
- Ethics/consent reporting incompleteAssessed
The introduction cites prior work on the limited survival with doxorubicin and the lack of prior therapies improving overall survival. It acknowledges the unmet medical need and provides a logical rationale linking PDGF/PDGFR signaling to sarcoma biology. Limitations of prior research (e.g., no prior combination improving OS) are discussed. The study objectives follow directly from the cited evidence.
“Soft tissue sarcoma is a rare and diverse group of solid tumours...Doxorubicin, either alone or in combination, remains a standard of care. However, survival for treated patients with metastatic disease is only 12 to 16 months, and the two-year survival rate is approximately 30%.”
“Preclinical studies of olaratumab alone or in combination with doxorubicin have demonstrated antitumour activity in human sarcoma xenograft models.”
“A detailed PubMed search was performed...none of which showed an overall survival advantage of single agent or combination therapy over doxorubicin alone.”
“However, survival for treated patients with metastatic disease is only 12 to 16 months, and the two-year survival rate is approximately 30%.”
“Platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF)/PDGF receptor (PDGFR) signaling plays a significant role in mesenchymal biology, including mesenchymal stem cell differentiation, growth, and angiogenesis.”
“Preclinical studies of olaratumab alone or in combination with doxorubicin have demonstrated antitumour activity in human sarcoma xenograft models.”
“Soft tissue sarcoma is a rare and diverse group of solid tumours... Doxorubicin, either alone or in combination, remains a standard of care. However, survival for treated patients with metastatic disease is only 12 to 16 months, and the two-year survival rate is approximately 30%.”
“Platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF)/PDGF receptor (PDGFR) signaling plays a significant role in mesenchymal biology... Preclinical studies of olaratumab alone or in combination with doxorubicin have demonstrated antitumour activity in human sarcoma xenograft models.”
“Few, if any, novel therapies or chemotherapy combinations have been able to improve these poor outcomes”
Randomization used minimization technique balancing key factors. Sample size and power are explicitly stated (130 patients, 80% power, two-sided α=0.20). Eligibility criteria are clearly defined. The intention-to-treat and safety populations are specified. Blinding is not fully described (open-label), but an independent blinded review of scans was conducted. The primary endpoint is progression-free survival, with a pre-specified interim analysis and alpha adjustment.
“Randomisation was dynamic and used the minimization randomisation technique to balance patients by ECOG performance status (0–1 vs 2), histological tumour type (leiomyosarcoma vs synovial sarcoma vs other), immunohistochemical PDGFR expression (positive vs negative), and previous lines of treatment (0 vs ≥1 line of therapy)”
“We conducted an open-label phase 1b, randomised, phase 2 study of doxorubicin ± olaratumab in patients with unresectable/metastatic soft tissue sarcoma.”
“The phase 2 planned sample size was 130 patients, which assumed a 50% improvement in median progression-free survival (hazard ratio [HR], 0·67) for the olaratumab+doxorubicin group, a statistical power of 80%, and a two-sided significance level of 0·20.”
“Randomisation was dynamic and used the minimization randomisation technique to balance patients by ECOG performance status (0–1 vs 2), histological tumour type (leiomyosarcoma vs synovial sarcoma vs other), immunohistochemical PDGFR expression (positive vs negative), and previous lines of treatment (0 vs ≥1 line of therapy).”
“The phase 2 planned sample size was 130 patients, which assumed a 50% improvement in median progression-free survival (hazard ratio [HR], 0·67) for the olaratumab+doxorubicin group, a statistical power of 80%, and a two-sided significance level of 0·20.”
“eligible patients were ≥18 years of age and had a histologically confirmed diagnosis of locally advanced or metastatic soft tissue sarcoma not previously treated with an anthracycline, an Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 to 2, and available tumour tissue to determine PDGFRα expression by immunohistochemistry.”
“Randomisation was dynamic and used the minimization randomisation technique to balance patients by ECOG performance status (0–1 vs 2), histological tumour type (leiomyosarcoma vs synovial sarcoma vs other), immunohistochemical PDGFR expression (positive vs negative), and previous lines of treatment (0 vs ≥1 line of therapy).”
“The phase 2 planned sample size was 130 patients, which assumed a 50% improvement in median progression-free survival (hazard ratio [HR], 0.67) for the olaratumab+doxorubicin group, a statistical power of 80%, and a two-sided significance level of 0.20.”
“We conducted an open-label phase 1b, randomised, phase 2 study of doxorubicin ± olaratumab in patients with unresectable/metastatic soft tissue sarcoma.”
Baseline characteristics table includes age, sex, race, ethnicity, ECOG performance status, and histological type. Age is reported with median and range. Health status is reported via ECOG. No justification needed for sex as both sexes are enrolled.
“Age—y: Median (range) 58·5 (22–85) [olaratumab+doxorubicin]; 58·0 (29–86) [doxorubicin]. Sex—no. (%): Male 26 (39·4%) and 33 (49·3%); Female 40 (60·6%) and 34 (50·7%).”
“eligible patients were ≥18 years of age and had a histologically confirmed diagnosis...an Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 to 2”
“Sex—no. (%) Male 26 (39·4%) 33 (49·3%) | Female 40 (60·6%) 34 (50·7%) | Age—y Median (range) 58·5 (22–85) 58·0 (29–86)”
“Race—no. (%) White 55 (83·3%) 60 (89·6%) | Black 6 (9·1%) 5 (7·5%) | Asian 2 (3·0%) 2 (3·0%)”
“ECOG performance status—no. (%) 0–1 62 (93·9%) 63 (94·0%) | 2 4 (6·1%) 4 (6·0%)”
“Sex—no. (%) Male 26 (39.4%) Female 40 (60.6%)”
“Age—y Median (range) 58.5 (22–85)”
“Race—no. (%) White 55 (83.3%) Black 6 (9.1%) Asian 2 (3.0%) ... ECOG performance status—no. (%) 0–1 62 (93.9%) 2 4 (6.1%)”
The paper states that the protocol was approved by the institutional review board at each participating center, but does not name the specific IRB or provide a protocol number. Informed consent and compliance with the Declaration of Helsinki and ICH-GCP are reported.
“The protocol was approved by the institutional review board at each participating center.”
“All patients provided written informed consent to participate.”
“The study was conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki and the International Conference on Harmonisation Guidelines for Good Clinical Practice.”
“The protocol was approved by the institutional review board at each participating center.”
“The study was conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki and the International Conference on Harmonisation Guidelines for Good Clinical Practice.”
“All patients provided written informed consent to participate.”
“The protocol was approved by the institutional review board at each participating center.”
“All patients provided written informed consent to participate.”
“The study was conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki and the International Conference on Harmonisation Guidelines for Good Clinical Practice.”
Olaratumab is described as a human anti-PDGFRα monoclonal antibody, but no clone or RRID is provided. Doxorubicin is named with dose only, no source. No software used for statistical analysis is mentioned. As a drug trial, reagents_identified is the key applicable criterion; it is inadequate. Software_tools_identified is not reported. Antibodies_identified is not applicable (therapeutic mAb scored under reagents). No other biological resources are used.
“Olaratumab is a recombinant human immunoglobulin G subclass 1 (IgG1) monoclonal antibody that specifically binds PDGFRα”
“doxorubicin (75 mg/m2) on day 1 of each 21-day cycle”
“Olaratumab is a recombinant human immunoglobulin G subclass 1 (IgG1) monoclonal antibody that specifically binds PDGFRα, blocking PDGF-AA, -BB, and -CC binding and receptor activation.”
“doxorubicin alone (75 mg/m 2 ) on day 1 of each 21-day cycle”
The primary analysis uses stratified hazard ratios, implying a Cox model, but the test is not explicitly named (e.g., 'stratified log-rank test'). For secondary endpoints, the method for comparing response rates is not stated. Exact p-values are given (e.g., p=0.0615, 0.0003, 0.3421). Effect sizes and CIs are reported. Kaplan-Meier curves and tables are presented. No software is mentioned. Assumptions such as proportional hazards are not discussed. Mathematical plausibility checks pass.
“stratified HR, 0·672; 95% CI, 0·442–1·021; p=0·0615”
“The efficacy analyses were performed in the randomisation patient population (intention-to-treat population).”
“stratified HR, 0·672; 95% CI, 0·442–1·021; p=0·0615”
“stratified HR, 0·46; 95% CI, 0·30–0·71; p=0·0003”
“p=0.0615”
“stratified HR, 0.672; 95% CI, 0.442–1.021”
The paper does not include a data availability statement. The only link is to the protocol at the Lancet website. No individual patient data or aggregated data are deposited in a public repository. No custom code is shared. While the trial is registered, this does not satisfy data availability requirements.
“The protocol is available at http://www.thelancet.com/.”
Methods are complete enough for replication. The trial is registered at ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT01185964). All pre-specified outcomes (PFS, OS, ORR, safety) are reported. Limitations are discussed, including the PDGFRα assay issue and potential confounding. Conclusions are proportional to the evidence. Funding and conflicts are fully disclosed. No reporting guideline (e.g., CONSORT) is referenced, but this is a minor omission.
“This study was registered with ClinicalTrials.gov (http://ClinicalTrials.gov), number NCT01185964.”
“Funding Eli Lilly and Company.”
“This study was registered with ClinicalTrials.gov (http://ClinicalTrials.gov) , number NCT01185964 .”
“While tumour PDGFRα expression alone did not correlate with outcome, tumour samples available for study were a heterogeneous mixture of archival primary and metastatic tumours.”
“This study was funded by Eli Lilly and Company. ... AQ, AS, DMC, RI, IC are employees of and stockholders in Eli Lilly and Company.”
“This study was registered with ClinicalTrials.gov (http://ClinicalTrials.gov), number NCT01185964.”
“This study was funded by Eli Lilly and Company.”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 22 references: 19 verified — 3 unresolved.
- INCOMPLETEPICASSO 3: a phase 3 international randomized double blind placebo-controlled study of doxorubicin plus palifosfamide vs. doxorubicin plus placebo for patients in first-line for metastatic soft tissue sarcomaNo DOI in the reference list, and this analysis predates DOI-first auditing. Shown for review - not a fabrication signal.
- INCOMPLETEEnhanced antitumour activity of anti-platelet derived growth factor receptor alpha antibody, IMC-3G3, in combination with doxorubicin against a human soft-tissue sarcoma xenograft modelNo DOI in the reference list, and this analysis predates DOI-first auditing. Shown for review - not a fabrication signal.
- INCOMPLETESequential treatment assignment with balancing for prognostic factors in the controlled clinical trialNo DOI in the reference list, and this analysis predates DOI-first auditing. Shown for review - not a fabrication signal.
2 data/code links checked; 1 live.
- datahttp://ClinicalTrials.govLIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttp://www.thelancet.com/UNVERIFIEDHTTP 403Liveness indeterminate — content not checked.
Copyediting
1 finding · worst lowWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
- Wording or formatting errors that need correctingAssessed
11 copyedit issues flagged (2 major): mostly consistency, clarity, typo.
- MAJORconsistencyResults, Objective Response Rate“18·2% (95% CI, 29·6–29·8)”→ 18·2% (95% CI, 9·8–29·6) or similar plausible rangeThe confidence interval 29.6–29.8 is implausible for a proportion of 18.2%; likely a typo.
- MAJORconsistencyResults, Progression-free Survival, independent assessment“0·670; 95% CI, 0·04–1·12”→ 0·670; 95% CI, 0·40–1·12 or similarThe lower bound of 0.04 is suspiciously low for an HR of 0.67 with 133 patients; likely a typo.
- MINORtypoResults, Adverse Events paragraph“aspirational pneumonia”→ aspiration pneumoniaMedical term is 'aspiration pneumonia'.
- MINORclarityTable 4 footnote“* No. of patients (%) for musculoskeletal pain was 5 (7.8) for grade ≥3 in the olaratumab+doxorubicin group. ** No. of patients (%) for musculoskeletal pain was 1 (1.5) for grade ≥3 in the doxorubicin group.”→ Integrate the grade ≥3 data into the main table or clarify why they are footnoted.The table has missing cells for grade 3/≥4 for musculoskeletal pain; footnotes provide the information but inconsistently.
- MINORconsistencyTable 4, footnote c“Consolidated term comprising the following preferred terms: fatigue, asthenia.”→ Ensure consistent formatting of 'asthenia' (used elsewhere) vs. 'asthenia'.No actual error found; minor.
- MINORotherResults, line 'Neutropenia ,' in Table 4“Neutropenia ,”→ Remove extra space before comma.Minor typographical issue.
- MINORclarityResults, line 'Febrile neutropenia of grade ≥3 was similar in both groups (olaratumab plus doxorubicin 8 (13%) vs doxorubicin 9 (14%).'“Febrile neutropenia of grade ≥3 was similar in both groups (olaratumab plus doxorubicin 8 (13%) vs doxorubicin 9 (14%).”→ Consider adding 'and' for clarity: '8 (13%) and 9 (14%)'.Minor readability.
- MINORtypoResults, Adverse Events“aspirational pneumonia”→ aspiration pneumoniaLikely a typo for 'aspiration pneumonia'.
- MINORpunctuationTable 4“Neutropenia ,”→ NeutropeniaExtra comma after 'Neutropenia'.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract, Results“Adverse events more frequent with olaratumab+doxorubicin vs doxorubicin alone included neutropenia (38 [59%] vs 25 [39%])”→ Adverse events more frequent with olaratumab+doxorubicin vs. doxorubicin alone included neutropenia (38 [59%] vs. 25 [39%])Missing space before 'vs' and period after 'vs' for consistency.
- MINORclarityResults, Objective Response Rate“The objective response rate for the independent assessment was 18·2% (95% CI, 29·6–29·8) with olaratumab+doxorubicin”→ The objective response rate for the independent assessment was 18·2% (95% CI, 9·8–29·6) with olaratumab+doxorubicinThe confidence interval for the independent assessment appears to be a copy-paste error; it should match the earlier CI or be corrected.
As a published paper, this work shows moderate robustness: the primary conclusions are supported by the reported data, but the missing resource identifiers, absent data availability statement, and the presence of impossible confidence intervals (likely typos) undermine transparency and reproducibility. Readers should treat the reported confidence intervals for the independent assessment ORR and PFS HR as unreliable pending correction. An erratum should be issued to correct the CI typos, and a data availability statement should be added to the online version.
- 1.CRITICALstatisticsCorrect the impossible confidence interval for the independent assessment objective response rate (18.2% with 95% CI 29.6–29.8) in the Results section; the correct CI should contain the point estimate (e.g., 9.8–29.6).This is a mathematical impossibility that undermines the credibility of the reported results and requires an erratum.
- 2.CRITICALstatisticsCorrect the suspiciously wide confidence interval for the independent review progression-free survival hazard ratio (0.670 with 95% CI 0.04–1.12) in the Results section; the lower bound 0.04 is implausibly low for the given sample size and point estimate.This is likely a transcription error; the correct CI should be verified and reported accurately.
- 3.CRITICALdata codeAdd a data availability statement to the published article (e.g., in the end matter or via an online addendum) specifying whether and how individual patient data can be accessed.Clinical trials are expected to provide data availability statements; the current absence is a major transparency gap.
- 4.HIGHrigorIdentify the manufacturer/source of olaratumab and doxorubicin, and the clone/vendor of the antibody used for PDGFRα immunohistochemistry, in the Methods section.Reproducibility requires knowing the sources of key reagents; this is a core resource identification gap.
- 5.HIGHstatisticsName the statistical software used (e.g., SAS version 9.4) in the Statistical Analysis section.Software identification is standard for reproducibility.
- 6.HIGHstatisticsExplicitly name the statistical tests used for each analysis (e.g., 'stratified log-rank test' for PFS) in the Methods section.The current description is vague and does not allow verification of the test's appropriateness.
- 7.HIGHstatisticsState whether the proportional hazards assumption was verified for the Cox models used in the primary analysis.Without verification, the validity of the hazard ratios and p-values is uncertain.
- 8.HIGHreportingAdd a reference to the CONSORT reporting guideline and provide a completed CONSORT checklist as supplementary material.Most clinical trial journals require this; its absence is a transparency gap.
- 9.HIGHotherVerify the three references that were not found in registries (PICASSO 3, anti-PDGFRα antibody study, sequential treatment assignment paper) and update or correct them as needed.Unresolved references may be fabricated or mis-cited, undermining the paper's credibility.
- 10.MEDIUMethicsName the specific institutional review board(s) that approved the study and provide a protocol number in the Study Oversight section.A generic IRB statement is insufficient for full ethical transparency.
- 11.MEDIUMreportingProvide a rationale for the open-label design in the Methods or Discussion sections.Acknowledging potential biases from lack of blinding strengthens the paper's credibility.
- 12.MEDIUMcopyeditFix the typo 'aspirational pneumonia' to 'aspiration pneumonia' in the Adverse Events section.This is a medical terminology error that could confuse readers.
- 13.LOWreportingReport weight or body mass index in the baseline characteristics table (Table 1) as it is relevant for chemotherapy dosing.While not standard for all cancer trials, it would improve completeness.
- 14.LOWcopyeditRemove the extra space before the comma in 'Neutropenia ,' in Table 4.Minor typographical cleanup.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Kaimen Rigor grades the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolates the paper’s major claims and checks its own evidence backs them, and flags integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.